Staff Sergeant “Jack” from the 50th Battalion CEF

Staff Sergeant "Jack"

Staff Sergeant “Jack”

I have a new mystery to unravel and it involves a Staff Sergeant from the 50th Battalion CEF. Identifying”Jack” should have been relatively straight-forward but this has proven not to be the case.

I have a wonderful photograph of the 50th Battalion Sergeants and Staff Sergeants that shows Jack seated on the far right. This photo was likely taken just before they embarked for England in October 1915. The battalion was formed on July 1st, 1915 and so the insignia the men are wearing should reflect the changes introduced in May 1915, when a Company Sergeant Major became a Warrant Officer II and the chevrons were dropped in favour of a single crown worn on each forearm. There are at least 7 men in the photograph wearing three chevrons and a crown, four of whom are presumably Company Quarter-Master Sergeants and three who are Staff Sergeants.

For those of you doing similar insignia research you may find the following resources helpful:

The 50th Battalion CEF Nominal Roll, published on October 27, 1915, has not helped me to positively identify Jack. I’m assuming “Jack” was a nickname for John as there are no Sergeants with the Christian name “Jack”. There are three Sergeants whose first or second name is John however none are Company Quarter-Master or Staff Sergeants. I would expect that a Staff Sergeant’s rank would entitle him to a separate designation in the nominal roll but I may be wrong.

There is reason to believe that Jack did not survive the war and that he died at or around Vimy. Although one of the Sergeants, John McCall (#434233), died this was not until Feb. 11, 1919. There was a Company Quarter-Master Sergeant named Thomas Albert Narraway (#434567) who died on June 3, 1917 and is commemorated on the Vimy Memorial. This would support the rank shown in the photograph and the rumour of his death but not the fact that he was named “Jack”.

Is it possible a Thomas was nicknamed “Jack”? One theory, but not a particularly good one, is that Thomas was nicknamed “Jack” because there was another relation or friend named “Tom”. The family photos that include Jack also include a Captain from the 50th named “Tom”. Tom was involved with the Pay Office and its possible Jack was a Staff Sergeant that worked with him. The Nominal Roll has no record of a Captain named Thomas but he could have joined once the Battalion was in England (all the photos I have of Tom were taken in Britain). Could the family have nicknamed CQMS Thomas “Jack” to avoid confusion? It seems like a long shot and so the research continues.

10 replies

  1. My grandfather was the Regimental Sargent Major of the 50th Battalion CEF His name was John Richard Butt and was called jack by Victor wheeler and many of his close friends. He was the one that supplied that photograph and many others to Victor for his book.

  2. Hi Roy, thanks very much for your comments on your grandfather and for pointing him out in the photograph … he is sporting an excellent moustache! I read Wheeler’s book several years ago but need to read it again. Cheers, Steve.

  3. Hi Roy and Jakealoo,
    Roy is my mom’s (Robbie) cousin, so John Butt is my great grandfather. I guess we did the same google search because I ended up here too. I was thinking of John because I have a chest in the garage with his name on it and 50th BTN CEF that he made. So, just saying hi and connecting some dots.

    • Hi Maylie … I had a quick look and see that William Stirling Donald was a Private when he was killed in action on April 12, 1917. Unfortunately he would not be in the 50th Battalion photograph I’m referring to as it only shows Sergeants and Staff-Sergeants. All the best, Steve.

  4. I’m 10 years late but I Believe I found your man! 434109 CSM John Thomas MacCallum DCM, KIA April 10th, 1917. I am very certain this is the same man as I have a named photo (from the Glenbow Archives) of the Staff Sgts and Sgts taken in England in 1916, and this MacCallum’s face matches your “Jack”. Not to mention the nickname Jack fits and he was also KIA.

    I collect and research heavily to the 50th Battalion so any additional material or photos you have of the unit that you would be willing to share would be greatly appreciated.

    • Hi Garrett,

      This is great news … sometimes mysteries just take 10 years (or longer) to solve! A named photo is exactly what I was hoping would turn up at some point. Thanks very much for posting this information.

      It has been a long time since I looked through the little collection of photos relating to John Thomas MacCallum but I will try to do so in the next week or so and let you know what I find.

      Thanks again,
      Steve

Tell Me What You Think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.